SPOTTED – 8/24/2021

Here are some interesting new products found on store shelves by your fellow readers. If you’ve tried any of the products, share your thoughts about them in the comments.

Limited Edition Kellogg s Rice Krispies Peppa Pig Cereal
Limited Edition Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Peppa Pig Cereal

(Spotted by David P at Walmart.)

Limited Edition Circle K Dill Pickle Potato Chips
Limited Edition Circle K Dill Pickle Potato Chips

(Spotted by Robbie at Circle K.)

Limited Edition Century Collector Series Wheaties 100 Years of Champions Muhammad Ali Box
Limited Edition Century Collector Series Wheaties 100 Years of Champions Muhammad Ali Box

(Spotted by Robbie at Walmart Neighborhood Market.)

Monster Cereals Trick or Treat Pack
Monster Cereals Trick or Treat Pack

(Spotted by Robbie at Sam’s Club.)

Lily s Unicorn Swirl Baking Chips
Lily’s Unicorn Swirl Baking Chips

(Spotted by Erin K at Walmart.)

Sprouts Plant Based Wheat Bread
Sprouts Plant Based Wheat Bread
Sprouts Plant Based White Bread
Sprouts Plant Based White Bread
Sprouts Plant Based Brioche
Sprouts Plant Based Brioche

(Spotted by Sarah R at Sprouts.)

Canyon Bakehouse Gluten Free Sub Rolls
Canyon Bakehouse Gluten Free Sub Rolls

(Spotted by Sarah R at Sprouts.)

New and Improved Oroweat Country Style Whilte Bread
New and Improved Oroweat Country Style Whilte Bread

(Spotted by Rachel J at Fred Meyer.)

12 thoughts to “SPOTTED – 8/24/2021”

  1. The Peppa Pig and Muhamed Ali boxes have been on shelves for several months here. I keep forgetting to pick up the latter before they’re all gone.

    1. I do not have a Sprouts anywhere near me but “plant-based” bread typically indicates it is vegan-friendly. My guess is that people just think “plant-based” sounds healthier than “vegan”.

      Vegans will know what this means and they will not turn away anyone who is not vegan.

    2. I wondered on this too, on what is in bread that would make it unsuitable for vegans. I wondered if US bread at something in that Uk bread does not. Im just looking a random loaf from wal mart website – it’s labelled that the factory its made that could have egg, and it lists Whey as an ingredient, which i believe is not always suitable for vegans – maybe it’s that?

      either way it certainly reads weirdly. maybe a vegan is reading and can clarify!

      1. Depending on the flavor of vegan, it can mean no dairy and/or no egg. If somebody sees “plant-based” and thinks it means vegan without checking the ingredients, they have fallen for the hype.

        It is exactly the same with the gluten-free fad. Those who really do need to avoid gluten have a good idea of what does and doesn’t have it, and know how to read an ingredient label to check for it. It is just a label slapped on anything and everything to make idiots think it is healthier. I’ve seen “gluten-free” rice. Rice does not contain gluten. I have seen “gluten-free” potatoes. Potatoes aren’t even a grain!

        1. I used to work in a seafood restaurant. Our frozen Rock Lobsters came in a box proudly displaying a “Gluten-Free” label on the front. *facepalm*

  2. Not all bread is vegan because of the dough conditioners/enzymes they use ex. Mono diglycerides, etc. The plant based label allows those to know where the enzymes are derived from 🙂

    And brioche usually has eggs (wash)/milk in it so, this is a vegan version.

    Plant based goes beyond containing meat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.